About the ZOG

In July 2010, the then Minister-President of the German-speaking Community, Karl-Heinz Lambertz, together with Stephan Förster, head of the department for foreign affairs and regional development, requested East Belgian historians to develop a concept for a multi-volume documentation of the region’s history. The 12-man working group worked until November 2011 on developing a concept for a 6-volume series on the history of East Belgium. It was to be entitled “Grenzerfahrungen. Eine Geschichte der Deutschsprachigen Gemeinschaft Belgiens”.

In December 2013, the German-speaking Community commemorated the 40th anniversary of the establishment of the Council of the German Cultural Community (1973) and the 30th anniversary of the establishment of the first government (1984). This gave rise to the 5th volume of “Grenzerfahrungen” dealing with the period from 1945 to 1973.

The working group quickly realised that any professional history of the region could not remain limited to the publication of the “Grenzerfahrungen” series. They requested further staff and funding, made available by the government of the German-speaking Community in the context of the Regional Development Concept.

On 25 November 2014, the Centre for Regional History in the German-speaking Community (“Zentrum für Regionalgeschichte in der Deutschsprachigen Gemeinschaft” or ZRDG for short) was set up as a non-profit association on the premises of the State Archives in Eupen. The members of the new association included historical and museum associations from the region, the State Archives, village groups and individuals interested in history and the Belgian Broadcasting Corporation.

They elected an Executive Board which in turn elected Els Herrebout, head of the State Archives in Eupen, as its first president. At the same time, the Advisory Board was established, made up of professional historians and providing support for the academic quality of the research activities.

On 1 September 2013, Carlo Lejeune was appointed managing director of the centre, conducting its day-to-day business in a part-time capacity.

This set-up provided the basis for developing new projects, including an audio-visual database made up of contemporary interviews, preparations for developing a website, etc.). At the same time, further volumes of the “Grenzerfahrungen” series were published.

In July 2017, the centre was renamed the Centre for East Belgian History / Zentrum für Ostbelgische Geschichte (ZOG). As a platform for exchanging historical information in East Belgium, it now unites nearly all people and institutions researching the history of German-speaking East Belgium. It sees itself as a service provider for its members. Thanks to its structure, the centre is able to coordinate academic and non-academic work on the history of the German-speaking Community and to support politico-historical education at all levels, from universities to village history associations.

 

zurück zur Übersicht

L’histoire du centre

En juillet 2010, l’ancien Ministre-Président Karl-Heinz Lambertz et Stephan Förster, responsable des affaires extérieures et du développement régional au Ministère de la Communauté germanophone de Belgique ont proposé aux historiens de la Communauté Germanophone d'élaborer un recueil d’histoire régionale en plusieurs tomes. Jusqu'en novembre 2011, un groupe de travail constitué de douze personnes a pensé à élaborer une série de publications en six tomes sur l'histoire régionale de la Belgique orientale intitulée « Grenzerfahrungen. Eine Geschichte der Deutschsprachigen Gemeinschaft Belgiens ».

En décembre 2013, la Communauté germanophone a célébré le 40e anniversaire de la création du Conseil de la Communauté culturelle allemande (1973) et le 30 e anniversaire de la formation du premier gouvernement (1984). A cette occasion, le cinquième tome de la série « Grenzerfahrungen », qui couvre la période de 1945 à 1973, a été publié.

Le groupe de travail a rapidement pris conscience qu’un travail durable et professionnel au niveau de l’histoire régionale ne pouvait se limiter à la seule publication de la série « Grenzerfahrungen ». Il a demandé que des ressources humaines et financières supplémentaires soient mises à disposition par le gouvernement de la Communauté germanophone dans le cadre du concept de développement régional (REK).

Le « Centre d’histoire régionale de la Communauté germanophone » (ZRDG, Zentrum für Regionalgeschichte in der Deutschsprachigen Gemeinschaft ) a été fondé le 25 novembre 2014, en tant qu’association sans but lucratif (asbl), dans les locaux des Archives de l’Etat à Eupen. Les membres constitutifs de la nouvelle association étaient les associations d’histoire et de musées locales, les Archives d’Etat, les groupes de villages et les particuliers actifs dans le domaine historique, la Belgischer Rundfunk, entre autres.

Un comité a été élu, et Els Herrebout, cheffe de service aux Archives de l’Etat à Eupen, en fut désignée présidente-fondatrice. Un Conseil scientifique a également vu le jour, constitué d’historiens avec pour mission de veiller à la qualité scientifique des recherches.

Dès le 1er septembre 2013, Carlo Lejeune s’est libéré à mi-temps pour travailler au Centre. Au moment de la fondation du ZRDG, il a endossé la fonction d’administrateur-délégué de l’association sans but lucratif pour s’occuper des affaires courantes.

De nouveaux projets ont pu être développés dans ce cadre institutionnel (constitution d’une mémoire audio-visuelle à partir de témoignages sur cette époque, lancement des travaux pour un portail, etc…). Simultanément, la série « Grenzerfahrungen » a continué à publier de nouveaux tomes.

Le ZRDG a été rebaptisé ZOG « Zentrum für Ostbelgische Geschichte » en juillet 2017. Il agit aujourd’hui comme plateforme d’échanges historiques en région de langue allemande en faveur d’une large catégorie d’individus et d’institutions germanophones du domaine historique. Il se veut également prestataire pour ses membres. Sa structure permet au Centre de coordonner les travaux scientifiques et de vulgarisation au sein de la communauté germanophone et de soutenir un travail pédagogique politico-historique à tous les niveaux, des universités aux associations de protection du patrimoine.

zurück zur Übersicht