The team

ZOG staff:

Carlo Lejeune, born in 1963, historian, head of the ZOG since 2013, member of the Executive Board and the Advisory Board. After studying in Louvain-la-Neuve, Bonn and Cologne, Carlo received his PhD in Trier for his thesis on German-Belgian cultural relations (1925-1980). Specialised in the history of East Belgium and its teaching, his focuses include the history of everyday life and society in East Belgium, as well as German-Belgian relations. He started working half-time for the ZOG on 1 September 2013, and has worked there full-time since 1 September 2014.

Alfred Rauw, born in 1958, primary school teacher, ZOG research employee. After working as a teacher for 38 years in Büllingen, he started working full-time for the ZOG on 1 September 2016. He devotes most of his energy to the teaching side of the ZOG’s various projects. He also coordinates the centre’s digitalisation project. His research into the region’s history looks at a range of topics. In 2004 and 2016, Rauw, together with his work group looking into the history of the East Belgian village Mürringen, was awarded the history prize of the German-speaking Community’s Parliament.

Vitus Sproten, born in 1993, historian, is a ZOG research employee. Sproten studied history and politics at the University of Trier and history at the University of Liege, focusing on media history and the history of both Belgium and Germany. He started working half-time at the ZOG on 1 November 2016, while doing his PhD at the Centre for Contemporary and Digital History (C2DH) at the University of Luxembourg. His doctoral thesis deals with pop culture and medial exchange in the region between the Meuse and Rhine (i.e. focused on the cities of Aachen, Maastricht and Liege).

Eric Wiesemes, born in 1972, historian, worked as a researcher at the Centre for Regional History. He studied history and politics at the RWTH Aachen. His specialist field is the Second World War in Eupen-Malmedy. He worked for the ZOG from 1 September 2015 (16 hours a week until 1 September 2016) until 1 September 2017 (3 hours a week). His main field of work involved taking care of the database on East Belgian history.

 

The ZOG Executive Board

The Executive Board is responsible for the centre’s day-to-day business.

Els Herrebout, born in 1961, historian and archivist, is President of the ZOG and a member of the Advisory Board. She studied at the Universities of Louvain and Antwerp. She is head archivist in the Eupen State Archives. She has published several works on the history of East Belgium. Herrebout contributes her archiving know-how and experience to the centre, thereby strengthening the role of the State Archives in the research work on the history of East Belgium.

Carlo Lejeune, Managing Director of the VOG since 2014 (see above).

Wilfried Jousten, born in 1971, librarian, became ZOG Secretary in 2014. After studying library and documentation science in Liege, he became the German-speaking Community Parliament’s librarian and archivist in Eupen. He has published several works, mainly on East Belgian ecclesiastical history, and is a board member of the “Zwischen Venn und Schneifel” historical association and of the association supporting archiving in the German-speaking Community.

Lothar Trantes, born in 1959, became the ZOG’s accountant in 2014. He works as an accountant for a Luxembourg tax advisory firm. Working in a voluntary capacity, he also administers the finances of the Zwischen Venn und Schneifel historical association in Sankt Vith.

 

The ZOG Advisory Board

The Advisory Board is the centre’s think-tank, developing concepts and providing support. It is well-networked with the region as a whole.

Andreas Fickers, born in 1971, is President of the Advisory Board and member of the ZOG Executive Board. He studied history, philosophy and sociology and is now Professor for Contemporary and Digital History (C2DH) at the University of Luxembourg. His research focuses include European technological history, transnational media history and digital methods of researching history. In 2016, he became head of the interdisciplinary Centre for Contemporary and Digital History (C2DH) at the University of Luxembourg.

Christoph Brüll, born in 1979, historian, studied at the University of Liege and gained his PhD at the Friedrich-Schiller University in Jena From 2009 to 2017, he worked as a researcher for the Belgian National Research Foundation (FRS-FNRS) at the University of Liege. In September 2017, he started work as Senior Research Scientist at the University of Luxembourg. In his publications, he looks at German-Belgian relations, transnational politics and social history in Western Europe and the history of historiography.

David Engels, born in 1979, historian (ancient history), studied at the RWTH Aachen, where he also gained his PhD. In 2008, he became Professor for Roman History at the Université libre de Bruxelles (ULB). Between 2012 and 2017, he was editor-in-chief of the Latomus journal. His research focuses include the history of Roman religion, the Hellenic Orient, the philosophy of history and the history of reception.

Els Herrebout (see above)

Carlo Lejeune (see above)

Peter M. Quadflieg, born in 1982, studied history, economics and sociology at the RWTH Aachen, where, from 2007 to 2015, he was a scholarship holder and then a research assistant. In 2014, he gained his PhD in the history of economics, sociology and technology. From 2015 to 2017, he worked as a trainee archivist in the Hessian State Archives in Marburg (Germany) and at the archiving school in Marburg. In 2017, he became deputy head of the State Archives in Eupen. He has published many articles on contemporary East Belgian history.

zurück zur Übersicht

Notre équipe

Les collaborateurs du ZOG

Carlo Lejeune (né en 1963) est historien. Depuis 2013, il est directeur du ZOG et membre du Comité et du Conseil scientifique. Il a effectué ses études dans les universités de Louvain-la-Neuve, Bonn et Cologne. Il obtient son doctorat à Trèves avec un travail sur les relations culturelles entre la Belgique et l’Allemagne (1925-1980). C’est un éminent spécialiste de l’histoire régionale de la région de langue allemande de Belgique du XXe siècle et de sa transmission didactique. Ses thèmes de prédilection englobent l’histoire sociale et du quotidien de la région de langue allemande, ainsi que les relations entre la Belgique et l’Allemagne. Depuis le 1er septembre 2013, il travaille à mi‑temps pour le Centre ; puis, à temps plein depuis le 1 er septembre 2014.

Alfred Rauw (né en 1958) : enseignant à l’école primaire, il est également collaborateur scientifique au ZOG. Il a travaillé pendant 38 ans dans le système éducatif de la commune de Bullange. Depuis le 1er septembre 2016, il travaille à temps plein pour le ZOG. Il est principalement chargé de la gestion didactique de divers projets et coordonne le travail de numérisation du Centre. Il effectue des recherches sur différents sujets liés à l’histoire régionale. Il a reçu, en collaboration avec le groupe de travail de l’histoire du village de Murrange, le prix du Parlement de la Communauté germanophone de Belgique en 2004 et 2016 en histoire.

Vitus Sproten (né en 1993), est historien et collaborateur scientifique auprès du ZOG. Il a fait ses études en histoire et sciences politiques à l’Université de Trèves ainsi que en histoire à l’Université de Liège. Ses travaux s’orientaient principalement sur l'histoire des médias et l’histoire de la Belgique et de l’Allemagne. Il est employé à mi-temps au ZOG depuis le 1er novembre 2016 et prépare son doctorat au Centre for Contemporary and Digital History (C2DH) de l’Université du Luxembourg. Son travail de doctorat traite les échanges culturels  dans la région Meuse-Rhin (respectivement des villes d’Aix-la-Chapelle, Maastricht et Liège).

Eric Wiesemes (né en 1972) : cet historien est un ancien collaborateur scientifique du centre d’histoire régionale. Il a étudié les sciences politiques et l’histoire à l’Université technique de Rhénanie-Westphalie d’Aix-la-Chapelle. C’est un spécialiste de la période de la Seconde Guerre mondiale à Eupen-Malmedy. Il a été actif auprès du Centre du 1er septembre 2015 au 1er septembre 2016 à raison de 16 heures hebdomadaires, puis à nouveau pour 3 heures hebdomadaires entre les 1erseptembre 2016 à 2017. Il a été principalement responsable de la base de données de l’histoire de la Belgique de l’Est.

 

Le comité du ZOG

Le comité gère les affaires courantes.

Els Herrebout (née en 1961) : historienne et archiviste. Elle est la présidente du ZOG et membre du Conseil scientifique. Elle a étudié aux Universités de Louvain et d’Anvers et est cheffe de service aux Archives de l’Etat d’Eupen. Elle a publié de nombreux inventaires, études archivistiques et contributions sur l’histoire de la région de langue allemande. Els Herrebout met son expertise des archives au service du centre et valorise également le rôle des Archives de l’Etat au paysage historique de la Communauté Germanophone.

Carlo Lejeune, est administrateur-délégué de l’asbl (voir ci-dessus) depuis 2014

Wilfried Jousten (né en 1971) : est secrétaire du ZOG depuis 2014. Il a entrepris une formation de bibliothécaire-documentaliste à Liège. Il travaille en tant que bibliothécaire et archiviste auprès du Parlement de la Communauté germanophone de Belgique. Ses publications concernent surtout l'histoire ecclésiastique de la Communauté Germanophone. Il est membre du comité de l’association « Zwischen Venn und Schneifel » et de l’association pour la promotion des Archives dans la Communauté germanophone de Belgique.

Lothar Trantes (né en 1959) : trésorier du ZOG depuis 2014. Il est actif en tant qu’expert-comptable auprès d’un cabinet de conseils fiscaux luxembourgeois ainsi que trésorier bénévole pour le compte de l’Association Royale d’histoire « Zwischen Venn und Schneifel » de Saint-Vith.

 

Le Conseil scientifique du ZOG : 

Le Conseil scientifique est le groupe de réflexion du Centre. Il développe des concepts, accompagne et conduit des recherches.

Andreas Fickers (né en 1971) : préside le Conseil scientifique et est membre du comité du ZOG. Il a étudié l’histoire, la philosophie ainsi que la sociologie et est Professeur en histoire contemporaine et numérique à l’Université de Luxembourg. Ses travaux de recherche portent principalement sur l’histoire technique en Europe, l’histoire transnationale des médias et l’histoire numérique. Il est depuis 2016 le directeur du centre interdisciplinaire « Centre for Contemporary and Digital History » de l’Université de Luxembourg.

Christoph Brüll (né en 1979) : historien. A fait ses études à l’Université de Liège et a soutenu sa thèse à l’Université d’Iéna. Il a collaboré entre 2009 et 2017 comme chercheur au Fonds national pour la recherche scientifique (FRS-FNRS) à l’Université de Liège. Il est employé dès 2007 comme Senior Research Scientist à l’Université de Luxembourg. Ses publications traitent les relations entre l’Allemagne et la Belgique, des questions de l’histoire politique et sociale transnationale en Europe occidentale et de l’histoire de l’historiographie.

David Engels (né en 1979) : professeur d'histoire ancienne. A étudié et soutenu sa thèse à l’Université technique de Rhénanie-Westphalie, à Aix-la-Chapelle. A partir de 2008, il enseigne l’histoire romaine à Université libre de Bruxelles (ULB). Il devient entre 2012 et 2017 rédacteur en chef de la revue et Collection de livres Latomus. Ses recherches s’orientent principalement sur l’histoire des religions à l’époque romaine, l’Orient hellénique, la philosophie de l'histoire et l’histoire de la réception.

Els Herrebout (voir ci-dessus)

Carlo Lejeune (voir ci-dessus)

Peter M. Quadflieg (né en 1982) : a étudié l’histoire, l’économie politique ainsi que l’histoire économique et sociale à l’Université technique de Rhénanie-Westphalie, à Aix-la-Chapelle. Boursier de 2007 à 2015, il devient ensuite assistant de recherche. Il passe sa thèse en 2014 dans le domaine de l’enseignement et la recherche en histoire économique, sociale et technologique. Il suit la formation d’archiviste de 2015 à 2017 aux Archives d’Etat de Hesse (Archives d'Etat de Hesse, Marbourg) et à l’Ecole d'Archives de Marbourg. Il occupe la fonction de premier assistant et chef de service adjoint des Archives de l’Etat d’Eupen et a publié de nombreuses contributions sur l’histoire contemporaine de la Communauté Germanophone.

zurück zur Übersicht