The Early Modern period (1500-1795)

On account of our fast-paced and ever-changing lives, I often get the impression that many developments only occurred in the last few decades. This can even be seen in our language – for instance, the term ‘globalisation’ only emerged in the 1960’s. Yet world-wide interactions and networks involving trade, politics, culture and communication between individuals, companies and states go much further back in time, as exemplified in the Early Modern period in what is now East Belgium.

For example, sources from the 16th, 17th and 18th centuries are full of reports of soldiers being billeted, of wars, plundering, fires burning down whole towns, the plague, diseases, bad harvests and famines. Life in those days was a permanent struggle for survival. It wasn’t until the 18th century that a longer period without war allowed a more peaceful life and a general rise in prosperity.

Ansicht

But these sources also show that people were able to cope with these unfavourable conditions, doing everything to make their lives as comfortable as possible. Despite all the hardship, there were also impressive success stories, showing how, even back then, the first steps towards globalisation were being taken. Four examples from the region illustrate this development.

Probably since Roman times, calamine (a zinc ore) was mined in Altenberg near Kelmis. In the Early Modern period, the mine’s operators supplied it to copper-beaters in Aachen, Namur or Antwerp. But they also traded further afield, sending calamine to Nuremberg, Sweden and the Lorraine, even if this trade was often interrupted by war. In the 19th century the Kelmis-based mining company “Vieille Montagne” (the French translation of the German “Altenberg”) was to become a “global player”.

Records show that cloth manufacturing in Eupen dates back to the 16th century, privileged by the dukes of Limburg. Responsible for achieving a smooth cloth surface, cloth clippers were indispensable skilled craftsmen. They were also very mobile, quickly moving to where they could earn most. Weavers, cloth clippers and cloth traders from Eupen were to be found working in nearby towns such as Aachen, Monschau or Verviers, or further away in Flanders, Northern France, the Netherlands or in what is now Poland. In the 17th century, Eupen developed into an important cloth-making centre, with fine-woven Eupen cloth sold throughout Europe. The heyday of Eupen’s cloth-making industry was in the early 19th century during Napoleon’s embargo against British trade (1806-1813), which for a short period put a stop to competition from England.

Ansicht

Excellent clay, extensive deciduous forests providing wood for firing ovens and good transport links were the prerequisites for stoneware production in Raeren from the 14th century onwards. During its heyday, more than 100 potters produced the stoneware, demand for which was very high. Pots were sent by road to Cologne, Nijmegen, Liege or Antwerp, where they were loaded onto ships for export to Asia, America, Africa and Australia.

Even the town of Sankt Vith in the remote Eifel flourished on account of its location at the intersection of two main roads linking the Rhine, Meuse and Moselle. Many people there eked out an existence from agriculture, but some earned their living as traders of leatherware, cattle or other goods or as carriers.

But life was constantly overshadowed by the many wars, destruction and hardship. Those wanting to earn their living not just from subsistence farming but as craftsmen or tradesmen were dependent on access to markets further afield. This meant that they needed a functioning infrastructure.

Ansicht

In historical research, this period is synonymous with the heydays of cloth-making in Eupen and stoneware production in Raeren and elsewhere, but for the Belgian Eifel it was a period of great hardship. In the 20th century especially, the fact of being part of the Duchies of Limburg and Luxembourg and the emergence of a German-French language border were misused as arguments for determining to which nation the region belonged. The richness of day-to-day life and global trade relations was only revealed just a few decades ago.

Wine from Chile, strawberries in winter from South Africa, tea from India – all these are just as normal as laptops, mobiles or shoes from China, jeans from Bangladesh or t-shirts from Vietnam. Yet such worldwide networks are nothing new. Even back in the Early Modern period, the first steps towards establishing such networks were taken, and East Belgium was no exception. Looking at such networks, I ask myself: Whom do they benefit? Craftsmen? Manufacturers? Traders? Customers? Just one or everyone? Who is negatively impacted by them? Why? Can they help to keep our planet a liveable place in a hundred years’ time? What do you think?

 

Further reading:

Carlo Lejeune (Hg.): Grenzerfahrungen. Eine Geschichte der Deutschsprachigen Gemeinschaft Belgiens. Band 2: Tuche, Töpfe, Theresianischer Kataster (1500-1794). Eupen 2015.

  • 1781

    Toleranz Protestanten

    Toleranz für Eupener Protestanten.

  • 1662

    Kapuziner in Eupen

  • 1635

    Pest im Eupener Land

    Ausbruch der Pest im Eupener Land.

  • 1566

    Calvinismus

    Calvinistische Gemeinde in Eupen

Frühe Neuzeit (1500-1795)

Unsere schnelllebige Zeit mit ihren zahlreichen Veränderungen erweckt bei mir häufig den Eindruck, dass viele Entwicklungen erst in den letzten Jahrzehnten eingesetzt hätten. Das lässt sich sogar an der Sprache ablesen: Der Begriff der Globalisierung entstand beispielsweise erst in den 1960er Jahren. Doch die weltweite Verflechtung von Wirtschaft, Politik, Kultur und Kommunikation zwischen Menschen, Unternehmen und Staaten ist schon viel älter. Sie lässt sich beispielhaft für die Frühe Neuzeit am heutigen Ostbelgien nachzeichnen – und das gleich an mehreren Beispielen.

In den Quellen des 16., 17. und 18. Jahrhunderts aus dem heutigen Ostbelgien finden sich immer wieder Berichte über Einquartierungen von Soldaten, Kriege, Plünderungen, Stadtbrände, Pest, Krankheiten, Missernten und Hunger. Ich lese daraus, dass das Leben ein täglicher Überlebenskampf gewesen sein muss. Erst in der zweiten Hälfte des 18. Jahrhunderts ermöglichte eine längere Friedensphase ein ruhigeres Leben und einen allgemeinen wirtschaftlichen Aufschwung.

Ansicht

Eine Abbildung Malmedys aus dem Jahr 1720.

Doch die Quellen zeigen auch, dass die Menschen diese ungünstigen Lebensbedingungen annahmen und alles versuchten, um ihr Leben möglichst gut zu gestalten. So stehen dieser Not beeindruckende Erfolge gegenüber, die auch zeigen, wie global diese Welt schon funktionierte. Vier regionale Beispiele zeigen das.

Vermutlich seit der Römerzeit wurde am Altenberg bei Kelmis Galmei, ein Zinkerz, abgebaut. In der Frühen Neuzeit belieferten die Pächter der Grube die Kupferschläger aus Aachen, Namur oder Antwerpen. Ebenfalls bauten sie einen Galmeifernhandel nach Nürnberg, Schweden und Lothringen auf, der allerdings durch die vielen Kriege dieser Zeit immer wieder unterbrochen wurde. Im 19. Jahrhundert entstand dann aus der in Kelmis ansässigen Bergbaugesellschaft „Vieille Montagne“ ein weltweit agierender Konzern.

Seit dem 16. Jahrhundert ist eine Tuchmanufaktur für Eupen belegt. Sie genoss große Vorrechte durch die Herzöge von Limburg. Vor allem die Tuchscherer waren unverzichtbare Fachkräfte, die schnell in großer Zahl dorthin zogen, wo ihnen die besten Verdienstmöglichkeiten geboten wurden. Eupener Weber, Tuchscherer oder Tuchkaufleute arbeiteten in nahen Städten wie Aachen, Monschau oder Verviers oder in weiter entfernten Regionen wie Flandern, Nordfrankreich, den Niederlanden oder im heutigen Polen. Der Ort Eupen entwickelte sich im 17. Jahrhundert zu einer bedeutenden Tuchmacherstadt. Eupener Feintuche wurden in ganz Europa verkauft. Während der Wirtschaftsblockade Napoleons gegen England (1806-1813), die die englische Konkurrenz kurzzeitig ausschaltete, erreichte die Eupener Tuchindustrie ihren Höhepunkt.

Ansicht

Eine Ansicht der Kirche in Walhorn aus dem 16. Jahrhundert.

Hervorragender Ton, ausgedehnte Laubwälder, die das Brennmaterial lieferten, und eine gute Verkehrsanbindung, das waren die Voraussetzung für die Raerener Steingutproduktion ab dem 14. Jahrhundert. Während der Blütezeit der Raerener Töpferei produzierten wohl über 100 Töpferfamilien die begehrte Ware. Umgeschlagen wurden sie in Köln, Nijmegen, Lüttich oder in Antwerpen, von wo sie nach Asien, Amerika, Afrika und Australien exportiert wurden.

Selbst die abgelegene Eifel mit der Kleinstadt Sankt Vith war im Raum zwischen Rhein und Maas bestens vernetzt – und zwar als Kreuzpunkt zweier wichtiger Handelsstraßen. Die Menschen lebten bescheiden von der Landwirtschaft, konnten aber als Zwischenhändler mit Leder, Vieh und Handelswaren eigene Existenzen aufbauen oder im Fuhrwesen tätig werden.

Die Lebensperspektiven wurden durch die zahlreichen Kriege, Zerstörungen und Nöte immer wieder getrübt. Den Menschen, die nicht alleine von Landwirtschaft, sondern von Handwerk oder Handel leben wollten, versprach allein die Öffnung für andere Regionen und Märkte mit regionalen oder überregionalen Produkten Zukunftsperspektiven. Dafür benötigten sie gut funktionierende Netze.

Ansicht

Eine Ansicht der Burg in Bütgenbach aus dem 18. Jahrhundert.

In der Geschichtsschreibung ist diese Zeit für das Eupener Land als Blütezeit der Tuchindustrie und der Töpferkunst in Erinnerung geblieben, für die belgische Eifel als Zeit der Not. Vor allem im 20. Jahrhundert wurde einerseits die Zugehörigkeit zu den Herzogtümern Limburg und Luxemburg, andererseits die Herausbildung der deutsch-französischen Sprachgrenze in dieser Zeit missbraucht, um Argumente für die nationale Zugehörigkeit der Region zu liefern. Der Reichtum des Alltagslebens und der globalen Wirtschaftsbeziehungen wurde erst vor einigen Jahrzehnten entdeckt.

Wein aus Chile, Erdbeeren im Winter aus Südafrika oder Tee aus Indien, das ist für uns heute genauso normal wie Laptops, Handys oder Schuhe aus China, Jeans aus Bangladesch oder T-Shirts aus Vietnam. Doch diese weltweite Vernetzung ist nicht neu. Schon in der Frühen Neuzeit waren wichtige Fäden dieses Netzes gesponnen, auch im heutigen Ostbelgien. Ich stelle mir die Frage, welche Folgen diese Vernetzung hat. Wem dient sie: dem Handwerker, dem Fabrikanten, dem Händler, dem Kunden? Nur einem oder allen? Wer wird dadurch benachteiligt und warum? Hilft sie, dass unsere Erde auch in hundert Jahren noch ein lebenswerter Planet ist? Was meinst du?

 

Lesetipps:

Carlo Lejeune (Hg.): Grenzerfahrungen. Eine Geschichte der Deutschsprachigen Gemeinschaft Belgiens. Band 2: Tuche, Töpfe, Theresianischer Kataster (1500-1794). Eupen 2015.

  • 1781

    Toleranz Protestanten

    Toleranz für Eupener Protestanten.

  • 1662

    Kapuziner in Eupen

  • 1635

    Pest im Eupener Land

    Ausbruch der Pest im Eupener Land.

  • 1566

    Calvinismus

    Calvinistische Gemeinde in Eupen