French period (1795-1815)

The French Revolution laid the foundations for our modern democracies, setting down on paper our inalienable human rights. When you have to appear in court, you have the same rights as every other citizen. You are protected against arbitrary action by the state. You can express your opinion freely. All these achievements and many others stem from the French Revolution, and it is well worthwhile taking a look at this epoch. Using the history of East Belgium as a basis, I would like to show you why the French Revolution laid the foundations for a Europe governed by rule of law and why you should fight to uphold these rights.

The French Revolution began in 1789. In 1795, what is now Belgium, Luxembourg and Germany to the west of the Rhine were annexed by France. The revolutionaries changed everyday life and the whole political set-up, introducing a new constitution, new laws and administrative reforms. The Declaration of the Rights of Man and of the Citizen of 26 August 1789 accorded people natural and inalienable rights from birth. These included equality before the law, protection of property, the presumption of innocence, protection against excessive punishments, and the separation of powers between the legislative (Parliament), the executive (government) and the judiciary (the courts). The introduction of the French Code Civil was an important step, as it meant that a judge could no longer arbitrarily set a punishment, but had to comply with the provisions of the Code Civil.

Copyright:

Nothing like this had existed before the French Revolution: rights were often only conferred on nobles and the clergy on the basis of agreements that had to be re-confirmed by each new ruler. Many people were not free, but subject to feudalism. People were not equal, but had much-differing rights dependent on their status. People were not treated equally before the courts but often according to the whims of judges.

How one viewed these revolutionary innovations was greatly dependent on one’s social status. Generally speaking, the clergy and aristocracy lost their prosperity and power, while ordinary citizens moved up the ladder, with the bourgeoisie in the larger towns benefiting most. Out in the country, it was mostly tradesmen, doctors, lawyers and civil servants who could look forward to much brighter prospects. Though labourers, farmers and craftsmen similarly enjoyed new rights, these sections of the population – most of them poor and illiterate – would only benefit from the innovations in the medium term. In their everyday lives, they did not get the feeling that the Revolution had made them better off.

What did this mean for what is now East Belgium between 1795 and 1815?

For the first time since the Middle Ages, the northern part, the region around Eupen, and the southern part, what is now the Belgian Eifel, were administered by the same authority: the Département de l’Ourthe.

Zeichen

The consequences of the Revolution were to be seen at a relatively early stage. Up to 1795, the nearby town of Spa, the town that lent its name to the English word “spa”, developed into a centre for people fleeing from the French Revolution. Nobles from the whole of France came there, staying for a few weeks before moving on further west. Many Eupen clothmakers also initially fled westwards, only to return to Eupen some time later.

This alone shows that the previous beneficiaries of the Ancien Régime, the aristocracy and clergy, were the losers of the Revolution, with the majority of them rejecting the political reforms. But the overwhelming majority of the peasants in what is now East Belgium also initially saw no great advantages in the many innovations, even if they had had to bear the brunt of the old feudal system. As citizens of the 21st century, we might find this strange, knowing that the French Revolution laid the foundations for our modern democracies.

Taking a look at the economic development in Kelmis, Eupen and the Eifel, it quickly becomes clear that for most people material interests were more important than the ideas behind the French Revolution.

In Kelmis, zinc ore mining was flourishing, the heyday of Raeren stoneware had finally come to an end, and the Eupen clothmakers were having to look for new markets. The young apprenticed tailor Johann Caspar Scheen from Eupen described the arrival of the French in his diary: “As soon as the French put foot on our Limburg territory, the clothmaking factory started losing business. And the factory represents the livelihood of our Fatherland, and when it ceases to flourish, all traders also suffer (...).” 

Scheen expressed clear concerns about his future and that of the whole region. A few years later he was to write: “After going through several bad years, we also went through a series of good ones, with the factories and traders doing very well in 1795, 1796 and 1797, with the master craftsmen paying 6 - 7 marks to have their wool spun, and everything was fairly inexpensive and offered at a civil price.”

From a business perspective, the Eupen cloth-making factories experienced their heyday in the period up to 1815, with textile workers, spinners and cutters receiving good wages and the cloth manufacturers doing very good business. However, the young apprentice’s diary also shows us that the innovations initiated by the French Revolution – innovations which we see as game changers – played no role for him. His priority was to earn a decent wage and enjoy a modicum of prosperity.

The economic situation was completely different in the southern part of what is now East Belgium. In this rural area, people mainly earned their living working in agriculture, the leather industry or trade between the Rhineland and the Ardennes. They basically experienced no economic upturn, and maybe this was one of the reasons why many reforms were opposed by the conservative Catholic population.

In 1798, the Klöppelkrieg – the Peasants’ War – broke out, with predominantly young farmers (subject to military conscription) rising up against the French occupiers. In what is now Luxembourg, the German Eifel, but also in Sankt Vith, Büllingen, Amel, Bütgenbach and Burg-Reuland, the peasants armed themselves with the simplest weapons, but had no chance against the French army units, who put down the revolt within just a few weeks.

The French occupiers generally remained unpopular. Louis François Thomassin, a Liege tax official working in the French administration, was to write the following about the Eifel-Ardennes region in his 1808 and 1813 reports entitled “Mémoire statistique du Département de l’Ourthe”: “The inhabitants of this canton have given up any hope of ever being able to improve their agriculture. They are convinced that all attempts undertaken up to now have negatively impacted the peasants, forcing them to revert to their customary practices.”

I ask myself what these peasants had in mind. If, as Thomassin reports, they were unable to even consider being able to improve their economic situation, were they in any position at all to predict the consequences of the political innovations? Moreover, were these peasants even affected by the Revolution, and if so, how?

Looking through older historical works dating back to the 19th century, one notes that many authors partially or totally rejected the French Revolution on ideological grounds, highlighting the population’s opposition, while at the same time idealising their mourning for the old regime in the Austrian Netherlands. The best example is the Peasants’ War, whose participants were stylised by the church in particular as heroes. The reason: they had fought against modernity. Yet most of them had fought against being conscripted into the French army or against excessive taxation.

Ein

In particular after the Second World War, this phase of East Belgian history was highlighted by historical associations, as it was seen as politically neutral. The works of Alfred Minke (see the reading list below) were the first to paint a differentiated picture of the consequences of the French Revolution in East Belgium.

Not caring much about politics is a prevalent characteristic of current times. But let me ask you the following: Are people just dissatisfied with the work of politicians, or even with our democracy? Do you see politicians still fighting for human rights and democracy? Do you see how politicians seek to find the best solutions for enabling people to live together in peace and security? Do you see populist parties also upholding human rights, citing the ideals of the French Revolution? What consequences would their policies have for our democracy.

 

Further reading (all in German):

Carlo Lejeune (Publ.): Grenzerfahrungen. Eine Geschichte der Deutschsprachigen Gemeinschaft Belgiens (a history of Belgium’s German-speaking Community). Code Civil, beschleunigte Moderne, Dynamiken des Beharrens (1794-1919). Eupen 2016.

Carlo Lejeune (Publ.): Grenzerfahrungen. Eine Geschichte der Deutschsprachigen Gemeinschaft Belgiens. Tuche, Töpfe, Theresianischer Kadaster (1500-1794). Eupen 2015.

 

Sources:

The quote of the apprenticed tailor Johann Caspar Scheen is taken from:

Alfred Minke: Die Französische Revolution aus der Sicht des Johann Caspar Scheen, Schneiderlehrling aus Eupen, in: Geschichtliches Eupen 24 (1990), p. 19-48

The quote of tax official Louis François Thomassin is taken from:

Josef Dries: Landwirtschaft auf dem Weg zur Monokultur. Klima, Märkte und Strukturen als beständige Herausforderungen, in Carlo Lejeune (Hg.): Grenzerfahrungen. Eine Geschichte der Deutschsprachigen Gemeinschaft Belgiens. Code civil, beschleunigte Moderne und Dynamiken des Beharrens (1794-1919). Eupen 2017, p. 142-163.

  • 1809

    Sekundarschule Eupen

  • 1803

    Pfarraufteilung

  • 1795

    Gemeindeunterricht

    Beginn des Gemeindeunterrichts unter staatlicher Aufsicht.

  • 1794

    Priesterverfolgung

    Beginn der Priesterverfolgung

Französische Zeit (1795-1815)

Die Französische Revolution legte die Grundsteine für unsere modernen Demokratien: Du besitzt unveräußerliche Menschenrechte. Wenn du vor Gericht stehst, hast du dieselben Rechte wie jeder andere Mitbürger. Du bist vor willkürlichen Eingriffen durch den Staat geschützt. Du darfst deine Meinung frei äußern. All diese Errungenschaften und noch viele mehr sind ein Erbe der Französischen Revolution. Es lohnt sich also, einen Blick auf diesen Teil der Geschichte zu werfen. Ich will dir anhand der Geschichte Ostbelgiens zeigen, warum die Französische Revolution das Fundament für ein Europa der Rechtssicherheit legte und warum du dich für den Erhalt dieser Rechte einsetzen sollst.

1789 begann die Französische Revolution. 1795 wurden das heutige Belgien, Luxemburg sowie das linksrheinische Gebiet durch Frankreich annektiert. Die Revolutionäre veränderten Alltag und politisches Miteinander: Sie führten eine neue Verfassung, eine neue Gesetzgebung und administrative Reformen ein. Die Erklärung der Menschen- und Bürgerrechte vom 26. August 1789 verliehen dem Menschen von Geburt an natürliche und unveräußerliche Rechte. Hierzu gehörten u.a. die Gleichheit vor dem Gesetz, der Schutz des Eigentums, die Unschuldsvermutung, der Schutz vor zu harten Strafen, die Teilung von gesetzgebender (Parlament), ausführender (Regierung) und richterlicher Gewalt (Gerichte). Der Code Civil, das französische Gesetzbuch zum Zivilrecht, wurde eingeführt. Es war wichtig, da der Richter nun nicht mehr willkürlich über das Strafmaß entscheiden durfte, sondern sich nach den Vorgaben des Code Civil richten musste.

Copyright:

Copyright: Klaus-Dieter Klauser

Das alles gab es vor der Französischen Revolution nicht: Rechte wurden durch Verträge oft nur dem Adel und dem Klerus zugesichert und diese Rechte mussten durch jeden neuen Herrscher erneut bestätigt werden. Viele Menschen waren nicht frei, sondern noch immer an die Grundherrschaft gebunden. Die Menschen waren nicht gleich, sondern hatten durch ihren Stand sehr unterschiedliche Rechte. Die Menschen wurden nicht gleich vor Gericht behandelt, sondern oft nach dem Gutdünken der Richter.

Wie jeder Einzelne diese Neuerungen der Revolution erlebte, hing von seinem sozialen Stand ab. Generell verloren Klerus und Adel zugunsten der Bürger an Wohlstand und Macht. Das (groß-)städtische, progressive Bürgertum profitierte am meisten. Im ländlichen Raum hatten zumindest Händler, Ärzte, Juristen und Verwaltungsbeamte fortan deutlich bessere Lebensperspektiven. Tagelöhner, Landwirte oder Handwerker erhielten zwar neue Rechte, mittelfristig konnten diese Bevölkerungsgruppen als Arme und Analphabeten aber nur verspätet von den Neuerungen profitieren. Im Alltag hatten sie nicht das Gefühl, Nutznießer dieser Revolution zu sein.

Was bedeutete das für das heutige Ostbelgien zwischen 1795 und 1815?

Erstmals seit dem Mittelalter unterstanden der nördliche Teil, das Eupener Land, und der südliche Teil, die heutige belgische Eifel, einer einzigen administrativen Verwaltungseinheit: dem Département de l'Ourthe.

Zeichen

Zeichen der französischen Administration sind auch die Unterlagen der Eupener "Mairie". Quelle: Staatsarchiv Eupen, Sammlung Kever

Die Folgen der Revolution wurden vor Ort schon früh sichtbar: Das nahe gelegene Spa, eines der bedeutendsten Bäder Europas, entwickelte sich bis 1795 zu einem Zentrum der französischen Revolutionsflüchtlinge. Adlige aus ganz Frankreich zogen durch die Stadt, blieben dort einige Wochen und zogen dann weiter Richtung Westen. Auch viele Tuchfabrikanten aus Eupen flüchteten zunächst nach Westen, um einige Zeit später wieder nach Eupen zurückzukehren.

Allein das zeigt: Die einstigen Nutznießer des Ancien Régime, Adel und Klerus, waren die Verlierer der Revolution. Deshalb lehnten sie die politischen Reformen mehrheitlich ab. Doch auch die überwiegende Mehrheit der Landbevölkerung des heutigen Ostbelgiens sahen vorerst keine Vorteile in vielen Innovationen, obwohl sie die Last des alten, feudalen Systems getragen hatten. Das erscheint uns Bürgern des 21. Jahrhunderts sonderbar, weil wir in der Französischen Revolution die Grundlagen unserer modernen Demokratien sehen.

Wenn wir einen Blick auf die wirtschaftliche Entwicklung in Kelmis, Eupen und der heutigen belgischen Eifel werfen, dann wird deutlich, dass für viele Menschen die materiellen Interessen wichtiger waren als die Ideen der Französischen Revolution.

In Kelmis florierte der Galmeiabbau, die große Zeit des Raerener Steinzeugs war endgültig vorbei und die Eupener Tuchmacher mussten sich neue Absatzgebiete suchen. Der junge Schneiderlehrling Johann Caspar Scheen aus Eupen schrieb über den Einzug der Franzosen in sein Tagebuch: „Den sobald die Franzosen unsere limburgensische Gegent nur betretten hatten, finge das Wullenfabrick (Tuchmacherei A.d.V.) schon an zu schwächen, und dieses ist das Einzige, wovon unsere vätterliche Gegend leben muß, den wen das Wullen-Fabrick nicht floriert, so liegen alle Handelschaften Noth [...].“

Scheen äußerte deutliche Zukunftsängste. Einige Jahre später notierte er: „Nachdem wir die schlechte Jahren erlebt hatten, haben wir auch widerum etliche guten gehabt; dan in dem Jahr 1795, 1796 und 1797 giengen die Fabricken und Handelschaften sehr gut – dan, wie vor gesagt, die Baasen (Meister A.d.V.) gaben sechs bis sieben Merck für einen Stranck zu spinnen, und alles war zimlich wollfeil und einen civilen Preiß.“

Wirtschaftlich erlebten die Eupener Tuchmanufakturen bis 1815 ihre größte Blütezeit. Textilarbeiter, Spinner, Tuchscherer erhielten gute Löhne, die Tuchfabrikanten machten glänzende Geschäfte. Das Tagebuch des jungen Schneiderlehrlings zeigt uns aber auch, dass die Neuerungen der Französischen Revolution, die wir heute als große Errungenschaften ansehen, für ihn keine Rolle spielten. Für ihn stand der ausreichende Lohn und somit sein Wohlstand an erster Stelle.

Ganz anders sah es auf wirtschaftlicher Ebene im südlichen Teil des heutigen Ostbelgiens aus. In dieser ländlichen Region lebten die Menschen überwiegend von der Landwirtschaft, der Lederindustrie sowie dem Zwischenhandel zwischen dem Rheinland und den Ardennen. Eine Belebung der Wirtschaft blieb weitgehend aus. Vielleicht stießen auch deshalb viele Reformen in der katholisch-konservativen Bevölkerung auf große Ablehnung.

1798 begann der Klöppelkrieg. Vor allem junge Bauern erhoben sich gegen die Besatzer: Im heutigen Luxemburg, der deutschen Eifel, aber auch in Sankt Vith, Büllingen, Amel, Bütgenbach und Burg-Reuland rotteten sich die Aufständischen mit einfachsten Waffen zusammen. Wenige französische Armeeeinheiten schlugen den Aufstand innerhalb einiger Wochen nieder.

Die französischen Besatzer blieben in der Regel unbeliebt. Louis François Thomassin, aus Lüttich stammender Finanzbeamter der französischen Verwaltung, schreibt in seiner Denkschrift „Mémoire statistique du Département de l'Ourthe“ in den Jahren 1806 und 1813 über das Eifel-Ardennen Gebiet: „Die Hoffnung, je ihre Landwirtschaft verbessern zu können, haben die Einwohner dieser Kantone aufgegeben. Sie sind davon überzeugt, dass alle bisherigen Versuche sich zum Nachteil der Landwirte ausgewirkt haben, die sie unternommen hatten, und diese gezwungen waren, zu den hergebrachten Gewohnheiten zurückzukehren.“

Ich stelle mir die Frage, wie diese einfachen Landleute gedacht haben? Wenn sie sich laut Thomassin nicht vorstellen konnten, ihre wirtschaftliche Situation verbessern zu können, waren sie dann überhaupt in der Lage, die Folgen der politischen Neuerungen vorherzusehen? Zudem frage ich mich, wo und wie diese Landleute durch die Revolution erreicht und berührt wurden?

Eine Durchsicht gerade der älteren geschichtlichen Arbeiten des 19. Jahrhunderts zeigt, dass sehr viele Autoren die Französische Revolution aus weltanschaulichen Gründen ganz oder teilweise ablehnten. Sie verinnerlichten die damalige Ablehnung der Bevölkerung stark und idealisierten gleichzeitig die Trauer um die alte Ordnung in den Österreichischen Niederlanden. Bestes Beispiel ist der Klöppelkrieg. Ihre Teilnehmer wurden vor allem in der Lesart der Kirche zu Helden stilisiert. Der Grund: Sie hätten gegen die Moderne gekämpft. Die meisten hatten sich aber vornehmlich gegen die Einberufung in die französische Armee oder zu hohe Steuern gewehrt.

Ein

Ein Denkmal für die Gefallenen der Koalitionskriege. Quelle: Carlo Lejeune

Vor allem nach dem Zweiten Weltkrieg wurde diese Phase der Ostbelgischen Geschichte von Geschichtsvereinen bevorzugt behandelt, da sie als politisch unverfänglich galt. Die Arbeiten Alfred Minkes schufen seit den 1980er Jahren erstmals ein differenzierteres Bild über die Folgen der Französischen Revolution in Ostbelgien.

Politikverdrossenheit ist in öffentlichen Diskussionen unserer Zeit allgegenwärtig. Ich frage dich: Sind diese Menschen nur mit der Arbeit der Politiker unzufrieden oder sogar mit unserer Demokratie? Siehst du, dass die Politik sich auch heute noch immer für Menschenrechte und Demokratie einsetzt? Siehst du, wie sie nach möglichst guten Lösungen für das Zusammenleben der Menschen sucht? Siehst du, dass auch populistische Parteien sich für die Menschenrechte einsetzen und auf die Ideale der Französischen Revolution berufen? Welche Folgen würde ihre Politik für unsere Demokratie wohl haben?

 

Lesetipps:

Carlo Lejeune (Hg.): Grenzerfahrungen. Eine Geschichte der Deutschsprachigen Gemeinschaft Belgiens. Code Civil, beschleunigte Moderne, Dynamiken des Beharrens (1794-1919). Eupen 2016.

Carlo Lejeune (Hg.): Grenzerfahrungen. Eine Geschichte der Deutschsprachigen Gemeinschaft Belgiens. Tuche, Töpfe, Theresianischer Kataster (1500-1794). Eupen 2015.

 

Quellenhinweis:

Das Zitat des Schneiderlehrlings Johann Caspar Scheens stammt aus:

Alfred Minke: Die Französische Revolution aus der Sicht des Johann Caspar Scheen, Schneiderlehrling aus Eupen, in: Geschichtliches Eupen 24 (1990), S. 19-48

Das Zitat des Finanzbeamten Louis François Thomassins stammt aus:

Josef Dries: Landwirtschaft auf dem Weg zur Monokultur. Klima, Märkte und Strukturen als beständige Herausforderungen, in Carlo Lejeune (Hg.): Grenzerfahrungen. Eine Geschichte der Deutschsprachigen Gemeinschaft Belgiens. Code civil, beschleunigte Moderne und Dynamiken des Beharrens (1794-1919). Eupen 2017, S. 142-163.

  • 1809

    Sekundarschule Eupen

  • 1803

    Pfarraufteilung

  • 1795

    Gemeindeunterricht

    Beginn des Gemeindeunterrichts unter staatlicher Aufsicht.

  • 1794

    Priesterverfolgung

    Beginn der Priesterverfolgung