Post war period (1950-1973)

Even in the 1970’s, many East Belgians sought the help of teachers, priests or officials to fill in forms in French that they did not understand. In court, German-speaking Belgians were not allowed to be heard in their own language. Many postal workers and officials spoke just French. Many schoolchildren had to follow lessons given in French despite having insufficient knowledge of the language. It was not until German was recognised as a minority language that the German-speaking populace were able to officially use their language. I would like to explain to you why the recognition of a minority language and culture is so important for integration and inclusion.

Over the course of the 19th century, Belgium had quickly developed into a centrally-ruled unitary national state. But after 1945, this unity became little more than an illusion, with the state dominated by a French-speaking upper class. The Walloon and French-speaking population profited from their knowledge of the national language, while the Flemish majority had only few cultural and language rights. Resistance against this central state grew.

BS

Beginning in the 1950’s, the country began to ferment. In 1948, a study centre named after the Belgian politician Pierre Hamel was established. This worked until 1955 on compiling a report on the country’s problems. Adopted in 1958, the report led to the language borders in Belgium being defined by law in 1962 and, one year later, to the languages to be used in schools being defined. There was now an official German language region in Belgium, made up of nine German-speaking municipalities. From this moment on, every German-speaking Belgian could now, at least in theory, demand to communicate with government authorities in German. In practice, several more years were to go by before this right was universally implemented. During this period, the minority developed a new awareness for their rights.

What are now the municipalities of Malmedy and Weismes were assigned to the French-speaking region. The decision as to which language region a municipality was to belong was taken by the local council. For instance, in Kelmis the decision to join the German-speaking region was taken by a majority of just one vote.

But the language laws were just the first step. Feeling disadvantaged, the Flemish political party was demanding not just language rights in schools, administrations and courts, but also political co-determination. While the East Belgian students in the Flemish city of Leuven (Louvain) experienced the tensions between French- and Flemish-speaking citizens at first hand, the turbulence in the rest of Belgium was hardly registered or described in the press in the East Cantons. The discussions about independence for the various language communities were too much for the still traumatised German-speaking minority in the late 1960’s.

Pankert

This leads historians to question whether the German-speaking population actually fought for their independence, or whether the latter was just a by-product of the tensions between the two major language communities, the French-speaking Walloons and the Dutch-speaking Flemish. Which interest groups played a role in determining how the various communities were to live together? What were their goals?

A retrospective:

  • Twenty years after the end of the Second World War, politics still played hardly any role at all in public life in East Belgium. Still traumatised, many people were even wary of joining a religious or cultural association. Such behaviour was part of the collective head-in-the-sand attitude.
  • Public opinion was determined by the region’s single (monopolistic) newspaper, the Grenz-Echo. a newspaper explicitly expressing the views of the Christian-Social Party (CSP), a conservative party nearly always belonging to the prevalent government coalitions. The CSP dominated local politics, with 93% of the East Belgian electorate voting for it in 1946 and 69% in 1965. The CSP had a reputation as the “party of the East Cantons”.
  • From an administrative perspective, the region was administered between 15 January 1945 and 1 December 1976 by a commissioner, Henri Hoen, tasked with implementing the political guidelines adopted by the Belgian government in 1946. These guidelines included closing the German-Belgian border as far as possible and getting the German-speaking population to look to Belgium, upholding an exaggerated Belgian brand of nationalism and promoting French as the language used in schools and administration - to the detriment of German.
  • Many East Belgians had the feeling that they had few chances to move up the career ladder in Belgium. Moreover, the rural Belgian Eifel was economically weak, hit by a decline in agricultural employment and insufficient employment in other branches. Many people left the region due to its low-growth economy.

Current research points to turning points in the 1960’s, with a new generation of politicians bringing new momentum to the region. Social tensions mounted due to the disadvantages experienced by the rural population and the German-speaking minority. Moreover, the dominant position of the CSP virtually provoked counter-reactions.

Kaperberg

The communicative memory was gradually extended to include a cultural memory revisiting the social traumata of the First and Second World Wars.

  • Historical societies were established in Sankt Vith, Eupen and Kelmis.
  • Young German and Swiss researchers focused on the 1920 switch from Germany to Belgium, the inter-war years and the Nazi period.
  • The Belgian broadcasting corporation’s national language programme broadcast a series on “50 years of East Belgium”.
  • The first historical studies were published.

In the 1960’s public opinion started to open up its horizons though developments in the media landscape, with the Aachener Volkszeitung, the local newspaper of Aachen on the German side of the border, producing a daily East Belgian supplement (1965-1989), and with Henri Michel being replaced by the much more open-minded Heinrich Toussaint as editor-in-chief of the Grenz-Echo. In the same vein, the Belgian broadcasting corporation extended its German language programme, again helping to promote the development of public opinion.

Up to 1965, the CSP was the only party upholding the interests of East Belgium in Brussels. The lethargy of the early post-war years gradually dissipated, as seen in the 1968 elections where, for the first time, the liberal Party for Freedom and Progress (PFF) gained one-third of votes following a remarkably modern election campaign. The CSP just managed to defend its absolute majority. Looked at from today’s perspective, many of the votes for the PFF were not so much a vote for a liberal party as an expression of social protest, taken up in Brussels by Sankt Vith’s PFF Senator Michel. Advocating independence, he fought hard to have the German-speaking population recognised as a minority. East Belgium made its voice actively and controversially heard in Brussels.

The general rejection of post-war values changed society, daily life and the use of the media. New social patterns emerged, greatly reinforced by the democratisation of schooling. More and more citizens felt able to take part in politics, displacing the passivity of the last two decades.

Einsetzung

In 1970, the Christian Independent Party (CUW) was established as the first regional political movement. Mutating into the Party of German-speaking Belgians (PDB) in 1971, the party was dominated by young politicians who had, as students in Leuven, experienced first-hand the Flemish visions of autonomy and federalism. In the discussions on autonomy, they put forward far-ranging demands. Their opponents in these discussions were the so-called traditional parties, a minority of whose East Belgian members rejected any change to the Belgian state structure. The majority accepted the process but were wary of the changes. Following initial hesitation, they accepted a policy of step-by-step change in association with their national parties. We thus see that East Belgium was by no means homogeneous with regard to its political views.

In the Belgian parties, the view had come to prevail that Belgian could only be saved as a state through deep-going reforms. Awarding the language communities cultural autonomy was to be the first step, thereby reducing the pressure exerted by the Flemish supporters of a federal solution. The first reform of the Belgian state (1970/71) led to the establishment of the three language communities in Belgium: the Dutch, French and German Cultural Communities.

The German-speaking minority’s independence began on 23 October 1973 with the establishment of the Council of the German Cultural Community. The first of the three cultural councils, its members were elected following a free election in 1974. Though the Flemish and French councils were established two years earlier in 1971, their members were not elected until after the fourth state reform in 1993, while the Brussels Regional Council was established in 1989 with elected members.

The Council of the German Cultural Community started off in 1974 with a budget of what would now be €300,000 and with just few powers. Yet for politically interested citizens, it symbolised the long-awaited recognition of the German-speaking minority, with its language, culture and history. Acting as a political forum, its main purpose was to actively participate in the independence discussions and to steer the course towards greater independence in Eupen and Brussels. The main benefit of this cultural autonomy was to protect the continuing existence of the German language and culture in Belgium.

Back in 1950, two visions existed for the future of East Belgium: as a region in which French would quickly supplant German as the language spoken in schools, the administration and daily life, or as a region in which the German language and culture were recognised and with co-determination rights. For which vision would you have opted? Why? What does co-determination mean for you? Would you prefer to take the easy path, not having any political voice and having others decide over your future? Or would you prefer to fight for your rights, speaking out in political debates.

 

Further reading (in German):

Christoph Brüll, Carlo Lejeune (Hg.): Grenzerfahrungen. Eine Geschichte der Deutschsprachigen Gemeinschaft Belgiens. Säuberung, Wiederaufbau, Autonomiediskussion (1945-1973). Eupen 2014.

Freddy Cremer, Andreas Fickers, Carlo Lejeune (Hg.): Spuren in die Zukunft, Anmerkungen zu einem bewegten Jahrhundert. Büllingen 2001.

  • 1968

    Sekundarschulgründungen

    Sekundarschulgründungen in Bütgenbach, Büllingen und Reuland

  • 1965

    Gründung Geschichtsvereine

    Gründung des Geschichtsvereins ZVS/ Eupener Geschichts- und Museumsverein/ Im Göhltal

  • 1963

    Töpfereimuseum

    Eröffnung Töpfereimuseum Raeren

  • 1962

    Sprachengrenze

    Sprachengrenzen werden festgelegt (Gesetz v. 08.11.1962)

  • 1957

    Volksbildungswerk

  • 1954

    Schulkampf

    Schulkampf im Sekundarschulwesen - Großkundgebung in Sankt Vith

  • 1948

    Staatliche Mittelschulen

    Gründung Staatliche Mittelschule St. Vith, Kelmis, Eupen

  • Maria Goretti Sankt Vith

    Gründung Institut Maria Goretti St. Vith

  • 1945

    Heimkehr

    Heimkehr Kriegsgefangene

  • Emissions en langue allemande

    Belgisches Radio in deutscher Sprache

Après-guerre (1950-1973)

Jusqu'aux années 1970, de nombreux Belges germanophones se rendaient chez les enseignants, les prêtres ou les fonctionnaires pour faire remplir en français des formulaires d'état, car ils ne les comprenaient pas. Au tribunal, les germanophones ne pouvaient pas témoigner dans leur langue maternelle. Au bureau de poste et dans les administrations, beaucoup de fonctionnaires ne parlaient que le français. De nombreux élèves ont dû suivre un enseignement secondaire en français sans avoir des compétences linguistiques suffisantes. Ce n'est que par la reconnaissance de la langue minoritaire que les germanophones en Belgique ont pu s'exprimer dans leur propre langue. J’aimerais t’expliquer pourquoi la reconnaissance d'une langue et d'une culture minoritaires ainsi que la codétermination sont si importantes pour une bonne coexistence dans un pays.

Au cours du XIXe siècle, la Belgique s'est très vite transformée en un État central unitaire. Après 1945, ce n'était plus qu'un mirage. Une classe supérieure francophone dominait l'État. Les populations wallonne et francophone ont bénéficié de leur connaissance de la langue officielle. La majorité flamande avait peu de droits culturels et linguistiques. La résistance contre cet État central s'est accrue.

BS

C'est pour cette raison que le pays connaît des remous depuis les années 1950. Un centre d'études, du nom de l'homme politique belge Pierre Harmel, a été fondé en 1948. En 1955, il avait rédigé un rapport sur les problèmes nationaux, qui a été adopté en 1958. C'est ainsi qu'en 1962, les frontières linguistiques en Belgique ont été définies par la loi, et un an plus tard, l'utilisation des langues dans l'enseignement a été établie. Aujourd'hui, une région de langue allemande officielle a été créée en Belgique, comprenant les neuf communes germanophones. Désormais, chaque germanophone pourrait théoriquement revendiquer son droit de communiquer avec les autorités de l'Etat dans sa langue maternelle. Dans la pratique, il a fallu de nombreuses années pour que ce droit ne soit universellement appliqué. Cependant, cela a donné lieu à un nouveau sentiment de confiance en soi de la minorité pour ses droits dans l'État.

Les actuelles communes de Malmedy et de Waimes appartiennent désormais à la Communauté Française. Les conseils municipaux respectifs ont pris la décision concernant l'adhésion. Dans la commune de la Calamine, cette décision a été prise à la majorité des voix en faveur de la région de langue allemande.

Mais les lois linguistiques n'étaient qu'un premier pas. Le Mouvement Flamand exigeait non seulement des droits linguistiques dans l'enseignement, l'administration et les tribunaux, mais aussi une participation politique. Ils se voyaient eux-mêmes désavantagés. Seuls les étudiants germanophones à Louvain (Leuven) ont vécu de près les grandes tensions entre francophones et flamands. Dans l’actuelle Communauté Germanophone, les violentes tensions internes belges des années 1960 n'ont guère été décrites dans la presse. Les discussions internes sur l'autonomie belge ont écrasé la minorité traumatisée, qui a dû se positionner à partir de la fin des années 1960.

Pankert

Les historiens se posent des questions : les Belges germanophones se sont-ils réellement battus pour leur autonomie ? Ou est-ce la conséquence des tensions entre les deux grands groupes ethniques flamands et wallons ? Quels groupes d'intérêt ont déterminé la coopération démocratique ? Avec quels objectifs ?

Rétrospective :

  • Les deux décennies qui ont suivi la fin de la Seconde Guerre mondiale ont été marquées par une forte dépolitisation de la vie publique dans la région de langue allemande. Symptomatique de cette dépolitisation, le dicton suivant représente bien l’état d’esprit des Belges germanophones : d’après ce dicton, un Germanophone ne voudrait même pas devenir membre de l'Association du Sacré-Cœur. Ce comportement faisait partie du silence collectif.
  • L'opinion publique était déterminée par un journal en situation de monopole, le Grenz-Echo. Elle était clairement le porte-parole du Parti chrétien-social (CSP/PSC). Ce parti conservateur faisait presque toujours partie de la coalition gouvernementale au parlement bruxellois. Entre 1946 et 1965, entre 93 et 69 % des électeurs de la région de langue allemande de Belgique ont voté pour ce parti. Le Parti chrétien-social était considéré comme le « Parti des Cantons de l'Est ».
  • La région a été administrée par le commissaire d’arrondissement Henri Hoen entre le 15 janvier 1945 et le 1er décembre 1976. Jusqu'aux années 1960, il s'efforce de mettre en œuvre les orientations politiques formulées par le gouvernement belge en 1946 : une fermeture de la frontière belgo-allemande et une orientation des Belges germanophones vers l'intérieur, la propagation d'un nationalisme belge excessif et la promotion de la langue française dans l'administration et l'enseignement au détriment de la langue allemande.
  • De nombreux Belges germanophones se sentent privés d'opportunités de développement économique en Belgique. L'Eifel belge était également structurellement faible. Des emplois ont été perdus dans l'agriculture. Il n'y avait pas assez d'emplois de remplacement disponibles. Le taux de migration était élevé et le développement économique très faible.

Les recherches antérieures ont fait référence aux tournants des années 1960 : générationnels, parce que les jeunes politiciens ont introduit une nouvelle qualité dans le débat ; sociaux, parce que c'est précisément ici que la discrimination des zones rurales et de la minorité est devenue particulièrement évidente ; politiques, parce que la domination du CSP est devenue si grande qu'elle a provoqué officiellement des contre-réactions.

Kaperberg

La mémoire communicative est progressivement complétée par une mémoire culturelle dans laquelle les traumatismes sociaux des deux guerres mondiales sont abordés, voire thématisés :

  • Des associations historiques sont créées à Sankt Vith, Eupen et la Calamine.
  • De jeunes scientifiques allemands et suisses travaillent sur le changement de patrie en 1920, l'entre-deux-guerres et la période de guerre.
  • Le service de radiodiffusion belge (BHF) diffuse une série sur « les 50 ans de la Belgique de l'Est ».
  • Les premiers ouvrages historiques de la région sont publiés.

Dans les années 1960, une lente pluralisation d’opinions se faire sentir : l'Aachener Volkszeitung publie un supplément quotidien pour la région de langue allemande (1965-1989); le rédacteur en chef du Grenz-Echo Henri Michel est remplacé par Heinrich Toussaint, qui a permis de faire entendre d'autres opinions ; la les Emissions en Langue Allemande (Belgischer Hörfunk) ont élargi leur, a élargi son programme et contribué à la formation de l'opinion.

Jusqu'en 1965, le Parti social-chrétien (CSP) était le seul porte-parole de la région de langue allemande à Bruxelles. La léthargie d'après-guerre a été rompue pour la première fois lors de la campagne électorale de 1968. Le Parti pour la liberté et le progrès (PFF) a obtenu un tiers des suffrages après une campagne électorale remarquablement moderne. Le CSP n'a atteint qu'une faible majorité absolue. De notre point de vue actuel, de nombreux votes étaient davantage une expression de protestation sociale, alors que le sénateur Michel (PFF/PRL) Louis quittait Saint-Vith pour se rendre à Bruxelles. Il s'est battu sans relâche pour la reconnaissance de la minorité germanophone et pour l'autonomie. La Communauté germanophone entrait sur la scène politique de façon active et critique

Einsetzung

Le changement général des valeurs a changé la société, la vie quotidienne et l'utilisation des médias. De nouveaux modèles de coexistence sont apparus, considérablement renforcés par la démocratisation de l'enseignement. De plus en plus de citoyens ont osé participer à la vie politique. La vie publique a été repolitisée.

Le premier parti en faveur de plus d’autonomie pour les Belges germanophones fut le Christliche Unabhängige Wählerpartei (CUW) fondé en 1970. Elle fusionna avec le Parti des Belges de langue allemande (PDB) en 1971. Les porte-parole étaient de jeunes politiciens qui s'étaient familiarisés avec les visions flamandes concernant l'autonomie et le fédéralisme, en particulier à Louvain. Ils ont fait des demandes maximales dans les discussions sur l'autonomie. Ils ont été confrontés aux soi-disant partis traditionnels. Une minorité de politiciens déjà établis a rejeté toute transformation de l'Etat belge. La majorité de ces partis ont observé le processus plutôt avec suspicion. Après quelques hésitations, ils ont opté pour une politique de petits pas en coopération avec leurs partis parents nationaux. Le résultat : Les Belges germanophones ont parlé politiquement à plusieurs voix.

Dans les partis politiques belges, il était généralement admis que la Belgique ne pouvait être sauvée au niveau national que par des réformes profondes. L'autonomie culturelle des communautés linguistiques devait être une première étape. Cela devait atténuer la pression politique de la partie du peuple flamand en faveur de plus d’autonomie. La première réforme de l'État (1970/1971) a créé la communauté culturelle Flamande, française et allemande.

L'autonomie de la minorité germanophone a commencé le 23 octobre 1973 avec la création du Conseil de la Communauté culturelle allemande. Il a été élu pour la première fois directement et librement en 1974 en tant que premier Conseil culturel. Les Conseils culturels flamand et français ont été créés en 1971. Seule la quatrième réforme de l'État en 1993 prévoyait une élection directe. Le Conseil régional de Bruxelles est élu au suffrage direct depuis sa création en 1989.

Le Conseil de la Communauté culturelle germanophone a géré un budget d'environ 300 000 euros en 1974. Il avait aussi peu de pouvoirs. Pour les citoyens politiquement intéressés, cependant, c'était un symbole de la reconnaissance tant attendue de la minorité germanophone avec sa langue, son histoire et sa culture. En tant que forum politique, elle devrait jouer un rôle clé dans l'organisation des discussions sur l'autonomie et dans le processus d'autonomie à Eupen et à Bruxelles. L'existence de la langue et de la culture allemandes en Belgique a été assurée uniquement par l'autonomie culturelle.

En 1950, deux scénarios d'avenir étaient envisageables pour la Belgique de l'Est : une région où le français remplacerait rapidement l'allemand comme langue maternelle à l'école, dans l'administration et dans la vie quotidienne. Ou une région où la langue maternelle allemande et la culture allemande sont reconnues et où les droits de codétermination sont devenus possibles. Quelle option auriez-vous choisie ? Selon quels arguments ? Qu'est-ce que la co-détermination signifie pour vous ? Préféreriez-vous aller de l'avant, être mineur et vous laisser dominer ? Ou voulez-vous défendre vos droits, vous battre et vous impliquer ?

 

Conseils de lecture :

Christoph Brüll, Carlo Lejeune (Hg.): Grenzerfahrungen. Eine Geschichte der Deutschsprachigen Gemeinschaft Belgiens. Säuberung, Wiederaufbau, Autonomiediskussion (1945-1973). Eupen 2014.

Freddy Cremer, Andreas Fickers, Carlo Lejeune (Hg.): Spuren in die Zukunft, Anmerkungen zu einem bewegten Jahrhundert. Büllingen 2001.

  • 1968

    Sekundarschulgründungen

    Sekundarschulgründungen in Bütgenbach, Büllingen und Reuland

  • 1965

    Gründung Geschichtsvereine

    Gründung des Geschichtsvereins ZVS/ Eupener Geschichts- und Museumsverein/ Im Göhltal

  • 1963

    Töpfereimuseum

    Eröffnung Töpfereimuseum Raeren

  • 1962

    Sprachengrenze

    Sprachengrenzen werden festgelegt (Gesetz v. 08.11.1962)

  • 1957

    Volksbildungswerk

  • 1954

    Schulkampf

    Schulkampf im Sekundarschulwesen - Großkundgebung in Sankt Vith

  • 1948

    Staatliche Mittelschulen

    Gründung Staatliche Mittelschule St. Vith, Kelmis, Eupen

  • Maria Goretti Sankt Vith

    Gründung Institut Maria Goretti St. Vith

  • 1945

    Heimkehr

    Heimkehr Kriegsgefangene

  • Emissions en langue allemande

    Belgisches Radio in deutscher Sprache